WordFast Anywhere: Translation unit...how does it exactly work?
Thread poster: Jacqueline Rosa-Kuhn

Jacqueline Rosa-Kuhn
United States
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 22, 2012

Hi everyone,

Re: WordFast Anywhere

I know this must sound like a silly question for long-time CAT tool users, but even though I've been translating for many years, I always did it as a side income, and not that many projects a year, so I never acquired one.

Now, I am working a full time translator, and I am learning how to use WordFast, and I'm confused about the translation units.

I was under the impression that a translation unit would come up automatically whenever it was found, but it didn't, at least not the way I was expecting.

I was translating a document recently, and as as example:

Segment X to be translated reads: The crowd went crazy when the band started playing!

Segment Y to be translated reads: Incredibly, shortly after the band started playing, the power went off, and . . .

***I was expecting that the section [the band started playing] in segment Y, since it is part of segment X , would come up already translated on segment Y, but it didn't, so I had to translate it again***

Am I doing something wrong, is that the way it works. If that's the case, how then do CAT tools really help you be more productive?

Thanks everyone!

[Edited at 2012-10-22 17:43 GMT]

[Edited at 2012-10-22 21:10 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

JL01  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:05
English to French
+ ...
wrong assumption Oct 22, 2012

At least partially wrong. Try enabling "Subsegments from Translation Memory" in Wf Setup | AC.

Assuming you use Wf Classic.

Jacqueline Rosa-Kuhn
United States
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
clarification from poster Oct 22, 2012

I am referring to WordFast Anywhere on my my question. Thanks again!

Marcelina Haftka  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 20:05
Member (2006)
English to Polish
+ ...
translation unit Oct 22, 2012