Thread poster: DoItInSpanish

DoItInSpanish  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:53
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 22, 2012

Dear Wordfast user,

I'm new to Wordfast and the whole machine-assisted matter.
I've read that people use parallel corpora (pairs of already-translated texts in the source and target language) to train a translation memory.
Is there a way to import my [thousands of] previously translated documents, along with their originals, to create a translation memory, using Wordfast?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. If I'm headed in the wrong direction, please advise.

Thank you and happy thanksgiving!

A.

Direct link Reply with quote

Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:53
Finnish to French
Alignment Nov 22, 2012

DoItInSpanish wrote:
Is there a way to import my [thousands of] previously translated documents, along with their originals, to create a translation memory, using Wordfast?

The process of creating a TM from original source documents and their corresponding translations is called alignment. You can use the Wordfast Online Aligner available in Wordfast Anywhere: just create an account for yourself at www.freetm.com

You can find a video about it here:

http://wordfast.net/wiki/Wordfast_Anywhere_Videos

How to use Wordfast Online Aligner to create translation memories from old translations. By Yasmin Moslem - [2:59]:
http://youtu.be/Y53DS5xWqQg?hd=1

There are many other aligners available out there, both free ones and commercial ones.

Finnish to French
translating vs. aligning Nov 22, 2012

DoItInSpanish wrote:
I've read that people use parallel corpora (pairs of already-translated texts in the source and target language) to train a translation memory.