Can't save translated file - InDesign document
Thread poster: Stefan Stefanov

Stefan Stefanov  Identity Verified
Bulgaria
Local time: 14:54
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
Mar 2, 2013

This is my first time translating an InDesign document. I started working in 3.1.3, then halfway through upgraded to 3.1.4.

I completed the translation earlier today. And I found out I can't save the translated file - quite a problem, you see, as my delivery deadline is drawing pretty near, and unless I hear from WF support ASAP, I will have no other option but to try and export my TM, load it into Trados, then make the translation anew...

My source file is XXXXX.idml. The bilingual is, as usual, XXXXX.idml.txml.

When I try to save the translated file, a new XXXXX_BG.idml fiel is created but has a 0 KB size. When I try again (say, a couple of hours later, having rebooted the computer), if the XXXXX_BG.idml file is there, WF asks if I want to overwrite. I choose YES and the file disappears completely!

Meanwhile, there is a separate file in the same folder, created by WF, called XXXXX.idml-_tmp_working_copy, which has a size of 2.2 MB.

I have no idea what to do. I have written to WF support through their hotline, and on Facebook. It's been six hours now and no response. Yes, I do realise it's Saturday but the clock is ticking...

Bulgaria
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Fixed (it seems) Mar 2, 2013

OK, I've done some searching and found this topic in Tech Groups on Yahoo: http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/WF_PRO/message/8731

So I tried Yasmin's advice. First, TransCheck didn't return any serious problems - two or three capitalization differences and two number format differences (perhaps TransCheck needs to be programmed to "know" that English number format 23,000 is localized with a space between the thousands instead of a comma in Bulgarian and Russian, e.g. 23 000).

No problems with the placeables though.