How do I get rid of the companions please??
Thread poster: Christel Zipfel

Christel Zipfel  Identity Verified
Member (2004)
Italian to German
+ ...
Mar 27, 2013

Several weeks ago, I got for the first time the message "Wordfast now adds a macro to Normal.dot to run companions. Some anti-viruses or security measures may block this step or cause MS word to crash (rare, just re-start). Continue?" If I click Yes, Word crashes, if I click No, the companions are opened. Not very logical, though... In fact, I am not given any choice at all...

This has happened since then every time I open Wordfast, and I must say, I find it rather unnerving.
I've never used these companions before, I do not want them and do not need them, and - which is worst - I am under the impression that they slow down Word.

Initially I thought that with a new wordfast.ini they would disappear - but they are still there!
I don't find a single setting that could refrain these unwanted and unfriendly companions from opening.

How on earth do I get rid of them now?

I didn't find any useful hint that worked for me. I read of course also this previous thread:
http://www.proz.com/forum/wordfast_support/146371-wordfast_classic_55_crashing_urgent_help_needed.html
where I posted originally but then realised that incomprehensibly, threads started some time ago don't show up any more in the forum's list, even with a recent post, and so probably nobody would ever read it.

I have tried also the mentioned shortcut Ctrl+Alt+M, but to no avail.

Thank you very much for any advice!

Wordfast 5.61/Word 2003

Direct link Reply with quote

Claire Cox
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:50
French to English
+ ...
Crtl+Alt+ MM Mar 27, 2013

Hi Christel,