Wordfast suggests translation for similar segments... but?
Thread poster: Flavio Ferri-Benedetti
Flavio Ferri-Benedetti
Flavio Ferri-Benedetti
Switzerland
Local time: 18:56
Member (2003)
Spanish to Italian
+ ...
Nov 2, 2004

Dear friends,

here I am again. Just wanted to make sure, since it is my first time ever with Wordfast (and I liked it very much, may I add!)

My project was English-Spanish. I started the TM and started working on the file. It was delicious to notice how the program suggested me the translation for very similar segments (ok, I have never used a CAT tool before and I was amazed). Even if translation was not exact, I could quickly edit it and the process was SO fast! BUT,
... See more
Dear friends,

here I am again. Just wanted to make sure, since it is my first time ever with Wordfast (and I liked it very much, may I add!)

My project was English-Spanish. I started the TM and started working on the file. It was delicious to notice how the program suggested me the translation for very similar segments (ok, I have never used a CAT tool before and I was amazed). Even if translation was not exact, I could quickly edit it and the process was SO fast! BUT, as I reached half of it, I realized that (oh dear) I was translating into Italian!

Needless to say, I nervously started again, replacing the target file and starting all over again. I clicked again on the Tools button, created and replaced the TM file (TXT) and started again.

But now the program would not suggest me on segments anymore! The target segments would still have different colours as before (yellow, gray..) but no suggestion, and "percentage" tag would always be "0".

Why did this feature "switch off" when I started again? Was this because I replaced the old TM and started again? I don't think so. But then, I could not find a way to switch that on (if we can use this word!), nor the time to investigate.

Would like to know more about this...