How do you change the language pair in Wordfast Pro?
Thread poster: mportal

mportal  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:46
Member (2005)
English
+ ...
Feb 3, 2015

I need to translate 3 files in Wordfast Pro 3 (demo version) but I made a mistake when setting the language pair because the suggested pair was English to French (and I need it to be French to English). Now it comes up with 'English' above the French (source) text and 'French' above the boxes for the English translation.
How can I change this?
(Sorry if it's a stupid question - I've never used Wf before).

I am using Office 2013 Home and Student and Windows 8 (if you need to know that).

Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:46
Finnish to French
Create a FR > EN project Feb 3, 2015

If you want to translate from French into English, you first need to create a project with French as source and English as target:

2015-02-03_2240.png

Once you have done that, any source document you open will inherit the correct languages: your French segments will be in the left column and you will have an empty column on the right for your English translations.

You may want to go through this tutorial.

mportal  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:46
Member (2005)
English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Now my translation is there but the source language has disappeared Feb 4, 2015

Thank you very much, Dominique, your advice was very helpful, as was the tutorial, but unfortunately I didn't watch that until after I had done the translation (one file). That came out as a Word file, not TXML as the client wants, and the SL disappeared when I saved it. Is there any way I can make the SL re-appear, or will I have to start again? Also, I uploaded a TM but didn't activate it, so I assume there is no TM with the segments I have translated. Is there any way that you can establish this afterwards, and, if possible, also check the TM I was given?
Probably not.