Thread poster: Comunican
Comunican
Comunican
United Kingdom
Local time: 09:41
Spanish to English
+ ...
Nov 28, 2018

Am feeling somewhat lost about which Wordfast platform I should be using for the future, and am looking for some guidance, please.
I've been using Wordfast Classic for 10 years and it's fine - as far it goes.
Then there is Wordfast Anywhere - which could be good (though I'd rather it was "good" already even if that meant it was no longer free!).
And then there is Wordfast Pro - which I find complicated (try adding a WFC TM for example - it's an unfathomable process).
... See more
Am feeling somewhat lost about which Wordfast platform I should be using for the future, and am looking for some guidance, please.
I've been using Wordfast Classic for 10 years and it's fine - as far it goes.
Then there is Wordfast Anywhere - which could be good (though I'd rather it was "good" already even if that meant it was no longer free!).
And then there is Wordfast Pro - which I find complicated (try adding a WFC TM for example - it's an unfathomable process).
There seems to be no real interoperability between the three platforms and it's hard to know where to invest my effort going forward.
Any thoughts, please - ESPECIALLY appreciated from the Wordfast team...
Thanks very much.

[Edited at 2018-11-29 14:10 GMT]
Collapse

Drew MacFadyen
Drew MacFadyen  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:41
Spanish to English
+ ...
Classic requires Microsoft, Pro does not. Nov 28, 2018

I’m unable to speak to the future or interoperability issues but the key difference is that WF Classic works on top of Microsoft word & requires a Microsoft license. WF Pro uses its own editor & does not require or use Microsoft software.

Regards,

Drew

Joseph Tein
Joseph Tein  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:41
Member (2009)
Spanish to English
+ ...
I like WordFast Pro Nov 29, 2018