Thread poster: Masahiro Imafuji

Masahiro Imafuji  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 13:41
Member (2007)
English to Japanese
+ ...
Sep 4, 2007

Hi. I am new to the translation world and using Wordfast.

I recently downloaded Wordfast and the placeable function works beautifully when translating English to Japanese but not Japanese to English.

Is this normal or should I do something to use the function?

Thanks,

Hiro

Direct link Reply with quote

Yvonne Gerstheimer  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 19:41
Member (2007)
Japanese to German
+ ...
I have the same problem Sep 4, 2007

Hello Hiro,

I have the same problem translating Japanese to German texts with Wordfast. Wordfast works beautifully with English to German translations, but somehow it only works half-way in the combination Japanese-German. It does not really find matches or fuzzy matches even if I know that I already have translated exactly the same term, or the program just marks the whole text as recognized.

In my case, it is probably a Mac-problem. The support advised me to install the Office X patch and the multilingual function in the Office program. I did so, but it still does not really work well for me. But I heard that it should work if you are using Windows.

For Japanese-German translations I use OmegaT now, which is a free CAT-Tool. It is not as funky and not as glamourous with lots of funtions as Wordfast or Trados, but is very reliable and easy to understand.

Regards,
Yvonne

[Bearbeitet am 2007-09-04 12:45]

United States
Member (2007)
English to Japanese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Yeah, it looks like it should work Sep 4, 2007

Hi Yvonne,

Thanks for your reply and tip.

It looks like it should work but it does not .
I should also try to ask the same question in Japanese forum too.

I look into Omega T.

Thanks again!

Hiro

Yvonne Gerstheimer  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2007)
Japanese to German
+ ...
You're welcome! Sep 4, 2007