KudoZ home » English » Sports / Fitness / Recreation

need explanation for croquet rules

English translation: Try this

Advertisement

Login or register (free and only takes a few minutes) to participate in this question.

You will also have access to many other tools and opportunities designed for those who have language-related jobs
(or are passionate about them). Participation is free and the site has a strict confidentiality policy.
20:38 Dec 12, 2003
English to English translations [Non-PRO]
Sports / Fitness / Recreation / croquet
English term or phrase: need explanation for croquet rules
This is a "garden croquet" variant, not the real thing. I need an explanation for rule 7 only.

2. FOR EACH WICKET YOUR BALL PASSES THROUGH YOU RECEIVE AN ADDITIONAL STROKE.
6. WHEN A PLAYER HAS HIT ANY OTHER BALL WITH HIS OWN, HE MAY TAKE ONE MORE SHOT FROM WHERE HIS BALL LIES OR HE MAY PLACE HIS BALL A MALLET HEADS’ DISTANCE IN ANY DIRECTION FROM THE BALL HE HAS HIT AND TAKE TWO SHOTS; OR HE MAY PLACE HIS BALL AGAINST THE OTHER, STEP ON HIS BALL WITH ONE FOOT AND STRIKE HIS BALL FIRMLY TO DRIVE THE OTHER AWAY, AND THEN TAKE ONE ADDITIONAL SHOT; OR HE MAY PLACE HIS BALL AGAINST THE OTHER AND DRIVE BOTH BALLS IN THE SAME DIRECTION AT ANY ANGLE. CONTINUED OVER ……
7. ANY BALL DRIVEN THROUGH A WICKET COUNTS EXCEPT IF YOUR BALL HITS ANOTHER AND THEN PASSES THROUGH A WICKET. IN THIS CASE, YOU MUST PLAY YOUR BALL FROM THE HIT BALL AS IN RULE ‘6’. IF BOTH BALLS PASS THROUGH THE WICKET THEN YOU RECEIVE AN ADDITIONAL STROKE AND YOUR BALL PLAYS FROM THE NEW POSITION.

I think this rule 7 is quite ambiguous. What does "any ball" mean? E.g. even a competitor's ball hit by me, that by virtue of the hit accidentally passes through the widget? Does "counts" mean "wins an additional stroke", or does it count in any other aspect, and if so in which?

Do the "both balls" refer to the case if, from rule 6, I decide to choose the option of driving both balls at the same time? But I can choose any other option from rule 6 as well?

Could you maybe reword this rule 7 to be more clear?
Tobias Ernst
Germany
Local time: 05:10
English translation:Try this
Explanation:
ANY BALL that you have hit (yourself, with your mallet) THROUGH A WICKET COUNTS (as a valid stroke - so you get the extra stroke)EXCEPT IF YOUR BALL HITS ANOTHER AND THEN PASSES THROUGH A WICKET. IN THIS CASE, YOU MUST PLAY YOUR BALL FROM THE HIT BALL AS IN RULE ‘6’ (this assumes, of course, that the second ball does not go through the wicket). IF BOTH BALLS PASS THROUGH THE WICKET THEN YOU RECEIVE AN ADDITIONAL STROKE AND YOUR BALL PLAYS FROM THE NEW POSITION (i.e as if the second ball had not even been touched, let alone gone through the wicket).

I would say your interpretation of the situation where your ball doesn't go through the wicket but the other one does is correct.

Basically, if you hit another ball with your ball, you have to play your second stroke from wherever contact between the balls took place, irrespective of where your ball goes afterwards - UNLESS both balls go through the wicket, in which case, you more or less pretend that the contact did not happen, and carry on as if your ball had gone directly through the wicket without touching any other ball.

--------------------------------------------------
Note added at 1 day 15 hrs 13 mins (2003-12-14 11:52:00 GMT)
--------------------------------------------------

To answer your subsequent question:
I would think almost certainly not. It doesn\'t explicitly say so, admittedly. But I feel 99% confident from my understanding of the rules (and this also comes from what would be \'logical\' in a sporting-rules context generally) that it is no, you have to go back through that wicket again.

For the follwoing, ignore a situation where your ball and the second ball both go through the wicket, we know what happens then.

The main reason is that once your ball has hit the second ball, then the rule that applies to those circumstances takes priority over the fact that your ball has gone through the wicket. Your ball could be in the garden pond, in the rosebed, in the kitchen (this is garden croquet!), it doesn\'t matter - your ball has hit another one, and is, if you like \"dead\" from the moment of that contact, what happens to it afterwards is irrelevant - rule 6 applies.

Hope that\'s clear !
And I hope you win !!
Selected response from:

Charlie Bavington
Local time: 04:10
Grading comment
Thank you ever so much!

I found these rules were so difficult for me to understand because there seems to be a huge culture difference in the "general sporting context" you are referring to. This job also consists of 7 other rules for other games that were equally poorly written, but easy to understand, as they were similar or identical to games known in Germany (like four in a row, chess, ...), so anything not stated explictly was clear implicitly. But that crocket thing really made my day ...

4 KudoZ points were awarded for this answer

Advertisement


Summary of answers provided
4counts as in not having to pass through that wicket again, and you receive an additional stroke.
Marian Greenfield
3Try thisCharlie Bavington


Discussion entries: 2





  

Answers


17 mins   confidence: Answerer confidence 4/5Answerer confidence 4/5
counts as in not having to pass through that wicket again, and you receive an additional stroke.


Explanation:
Any ball means any ball at all, although presumably the person would only be hitting his own ball with his mallet, but might knock someone else's ball through the wicket. Both balls mean that if you hit someone else's ball with your own, and your ball and the other one both pass through the wicket, you get another stroke, but must play your ball from where it lies.

Marian Greenfield
Local time: 23:10
Native speaker of: Native in EnglishEnglish
Login to enter a peer comment (or grade)

2 hrs   confidence: Answerer confidence 3/5Answerer confidence 3/5
Try this


Explanation:
ANY BALL that you have hit (yourself, with your mallet) THROUGH A WICKET COUNTS (as a valid stroke - so you get the extra stroke)EXCEPT IF YOUR BALL HITS ANOTHER AND THEN PASSES THROUGH A WICKET. IN THIS CASE, YOU MUST PLAY YOUR BALL FROM THE HIT BALL AS IN RULE ‘6’ (this assumes, of course, that the second ball does not go through the wicket). IF BOTH BALLS PASS THROUGH THE WICKET THEN YOU RECEIVE AN ADDITIONAL STROKE AND YOUR BALL PLAYS FROM THE NEW POSITION (i.e as if the second ball had not even been touched, let alone gone through the wicket).

I would say your interpretation of the situation where your ball doesn't go through the wicket but the other one does is correct.

Basically, if you hit another ball with your ball, you have to play your second stroke from wherever contact between the balls took place, irrespective of where your ball goes afterwards - UNLESS both balls go through the wicket, in which case, you more or less pretend that the contact did not happen, and carry on as if your ball had gone directly through the wicket without touching any other ball.

--------------------------------------------------
Note added at 1 day 15 hrs 13 mins (2003-12-14 11:52:00 GMT)
--------------------------------------------------

To answer your subsequent question:
I would think almost certainly not. It doesn\'t explicitly say so, admittedly. But I feel 99% confident from my understanding of the rules (and this also comes from what would be \'logical\' in a sporting-rules context generally) that it is no, you have to go back through that wicket again.

For the follwoing, ignore a situation where your ball and the second ball both go through the wicket, we know what happens then.

The main reason is that once your ball has hit the second ball, then the rule that applies to those circumstances takes priority over the fact that your ball has gone through the wicket. Your ball could be in the garden pond, in the rosebed, in the kitchen (this is garden croquet!), it doesn\'t matter - your ball has hit another one, and is, if you like \"dead\" from the moment of that contact, what happens to it afterwards is irrelevant - rule 6 applies.

Hope that\'s clear !
And I hope you win !!

Charlie Bavington
Local time: 04:10
Works in field
Native speaker of: Native in EnglishEnglish
PRO pts in category: 4
Grading comment
Thank you ever so much!

I found these rules were so difficult for me to understand because there seems to be a huge culture difference in the "general sporting context" you are referring to. This job also consists of 7 other rules for other games that were equally poorly written, but easy to understand, as they were similar or identical to games known in Germany (like four in a row, chess, ...), so anything not stated explictly was clear implicitly. But that crocket thing really made my day ...
Login to enter a peer comment (or grade)




Return to KudoZ list


KudoZ™ translation help
The KudoZ network provides a framework for translators and others to assist each other with translations or explanations of terms and short phrases.



See also:



Term search
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search