Member since Jun '10

Working languages:
French to English
English to French


United Kingdom
Local time: 06:54 GMT (GMT+0)

Native in: English Native in English
  • PayPal accepted
  • Send message through
Feedback from
clients and colleagues

on Willingness to Work Again info
2 positive entries
Account type Freelancer, Identity Verified Verified member
Data security Created by Evelio Clavel-Rosales This person has a SecurePRO™ card. Because this person is not a Plus subscriber, to view his or her SecurePRO™ card you must be a Business member or Plus subscriber.
Services Translation, Interpreting, Editing/proofreading, Website localization, Software localization, Subtitling, Transcription
Specializes in:
Biology (-tech,-chem,micro-)Physics
MetrologyMetallurgy / Casting
Medical: PharmaceuticalsMathematics & Statistics
Materials (Plastics, Ceramics, etc.)Engineering: Industrial
Medical: DentistryScience (general)

KudoZ activity (PRO) Questions answered: 1
Portfolio Sample translations submitted: 3
Experience Years of translation experience: 5. Registered at Jan 2010. Became a member: Jun 2010. Certified PRO certificate(s) N/A
Credentials French to English (France)
Memberships N/A
Software Across, Adobe Acrobat, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, OmegaT, Pagemaker, Powerpoint, SDL TRADOS, Wordfast
CV/Resume English (DOC)
About me

My first language is English, but as a dual national (French/English), I’m bilingual French/English having received part of my school education (3 years) in France (Nîmes). I spent the year 2008-09 on sabbatical leave in France (Nîmes) from the university of Limerick (Ireland). We have retained a small home in Nîmes and I’m equally pleased to have rebuilt family links and to have made research contacts in France.

I also have industrial R&D experience gained with the Swedish company Sandvik (carbides/ceramics/PVD/CVD coatings for turning/forming/boring), and links with numerous specialist companies. I’ve taught in French at the university of Provence and at the INSA Lyon.

I’m 62 and have more than 35 years experience in research and in teaching physics of materials. I’m presently writing an undergraduate textbook 'Thermal Physics'.

I recently took early retirement (Oct 2009) from the university of Limerick (Ireland) where I was a professor of materials physics for 25 years.


Ma première langue est l'anglais, mais en tant que double national (Francais/Anglais) je suis bilingue français/anglais étant en partie scolarisé (3 ans) en France (Nîmes). J’ai passé l’année 2008-09 en congé sabbatique en France (Nîmes) venant de l'université de Limerick (Irlande). Nous gardons toujours une petite maison à Nîmes et je suis autant heureux d’avoir réussi de refaire des contacts de famille en France que d’y avoir entamé des relations de recherche.

J'ai aussi une expérience industrielle R&D acquise avec la societé suédoise Sandvik (carbures/céramiques/revêtements PVD/CVD pour tournage/formage/forage), et des rapports avec de nombreuses societés spécialistes. J’ai enseigné en langue française à l’université de Provence et à l’INSA de Lyon.

J'ai 62 ans et je suis experimenté de plus de 35 ans en recherche et dans l'enseignement de la physique et des matériaux. A présent j’écris un livre ‘Thermal Physics/La Physique Thermique’ destiné aux cours de 2ème cycle.

J’ai récemment pris une retraite anticipée (oct 2009) de l’université de Limerick où j’ai été professeur de physique des matériaux depuis 25 ans.

Profile last updated
Jun 27, 2017

More translators and interpreters: French to English - English to French   More language pairs

Your current localization setting


Select a language

All of
  • All of
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search