The person shown here is a basic user of this site. He or she may be contacted directly for language-related services.


Working languages:
Portuguese to English

henrifoux

Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Local time: 12:47 BRT (GMT-3)

Native in: English 
  • Send message through ProZ.com
Feedback from
clients and colleagues

on Willingness to Work Again info
No feedback collected
Account type Freelancer
Data security Created by Evelio Clavel-Rosales This person has a SecurePRO™ card. Because this person is not a ProZ.com Plus subscriber, to view his or her SecurePRO™ card you must be a ProZ.com Business member or Plus subscriber.
Services Translation, Editing/proofreading, Voiceover (dubbing)
Expertise
Also works in:
Advertising / Public RelationsHuman Resources
Livestock / Animal HusbandryMarketing / Market Research
Medical (general)Mining & Minerals / Gems
OtherReal Estate
RetailTourism & Travel
Wine / Oenology / ViticultureZoology
HistoryGeography
General / Conversation / Greetings / LettersAgriculture
AnthropologyBusiness/Commerce (general)
Cinema, Film, TV, DramaCooking / Culinary
Education / PedagogyFinance (general)
FisheriesFolklore
Food & DrinkGames / Video Games / Gaming / Casino
Archaeology
Payment methods accepted Wire transfer, Check, Money order
Portfolio Sample translations submitted: 1
Experience Years of translation experience: 42. Registered at ProZ.com: Apr 2015.
ProZ.com Certified PRO certificate(s) N/A
Credentials N/A
Memberships N/A
Software Microsoft Word, SDL TRADOS
CV/Resume English (DOCX)
About me
I’ve been translating for 40 years, but just began doing it as a business. Proz.com (username henrifoux) recommends charging US$0.08 to US$0.12 per word, but employers can always make me an offer. My native language is English. Thank you for your consideration.

I am a doctor of veterinary medicine, which means I am a medical doctor, a surgeon, and a dentist, not to mention a homeopath, an acupuncturist, an herbalist, a nutritionist, and a chiropractor. I have a B.S. in geology, which I left for veterinary medicine. I dealt blackjack in Las Vegas in 1973 (Golden Gate Casino). That's why I put casino as a special interest, but NOT video games (computer-operated entertainment). I put 40 years’ experience as a translator because I moved to Japan in 1974 and taught English there for a couple of years. I spoke Japanese fluently (general conversation) and could read hiragana, katakana, approximately 1000 kanji and could write approximately 500 kanji. I returned to America in 1976 and trained and worked as a bartender for a while. I studied French for a year at Purdue University (1977) and could converse fairly well in it. I trained and worked as a locksmith for 5 years while attending Purdue University's School of Veterinary Medicine (graduated 1981). I shoed horses that summer in Montana and then moved to Germany where I taught English while procuring a position in veterinary medicine. I spent 2 years in Germany and worked in a large animal practice in Schleswig-Holstein. I spoke Hochdeutsch fluently and the farmers spoke Plattdeutsch, which I could understand. I returned to America in 1983 and worked in a small and exotic animal practice. For one year (1985) I was a partner in a wine exporting business and supervised various wine tastings in the San Francisco Bay Area. I studied Spanish for a semester at UC Berkeley extension in 1985 and learned the basics. Eventually I owned 2 veterinary hospitals, which is why I also know business, marketing, and human resource management. I consulted at the Steinhart Aquarium in Golden Gate Park and worked for a year at the San Francisco Zoo. After a few years of practicing allopathy (western medicine taught at veterinary school), I didn’t like the results so I studied and began practicing homeopathy, acupuncture, chiropractic, herbs and nutrition. During 1995-1996 I attended the Paralegal Studies Program at San Francisco State University. I completed 4 of the 5 core courses and 3-4 elective courses. My goal was to be able to learn enough about the law to go to the law library and do legal research for myself, which I did. I retired in 2001 as a vet(erinarian), which, by the way, I'm also a military vet(eran) (USMC). In 2003 I lived in New York City where I studied at the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) and became a Graduate Gemologist. I've traveled and sometimes lived in Europe, Asia, Africa, North, Central, and South America. I moved to Brasil in 2008 and am now a Brasilian. I attended an intensive course in filmmaking at the Academia Internacional de Cinema (International Film Academy) in Sao Paulo in 2010. Most of my translation work was done before personal computers with only dictionaries and thesauruses. I could translate because I know languages and cultures and am well-educated, not because I can use Google translator. I now have SDL Trados and Word, which makes translation work so much easier and faster. I have had education and training in other disciplines as well, but they're too numerous to mention or to even remember all
Thank you again for your consideration.
Keywords: medicine, gems, agriculture, business, others, see "about me" on this site


Profile last updated
Dec 3, 2015



More translators and interpreters: Portuguese to English   More language pairs



Your current localization setting

English

Select a language

All of ProZ.com
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search