Member since Jun '19

Working languages:
Spanish to English
English to Spanish
German to English

Elizabeth Chivers
MA in Translation and Interpreting

Chile
Local time: 11:01 CLST (GMT-3)

Native in: English Native in English
  • Send message through ProZ.com
Feedback from
clients and colleagues

on Willingness to Work Again info
1 positive review
Account type Freelance translator and/or interpreter
Data security Created by Evelio Clavel-Rosales This person has a SecurePRO™ card. Because this person is not a ProZ.com Plus subscriber, to view his or her SecurePRO™ card you must be a ProZ.com Business member or Plus subscriber.
Affiliations This person is not affiliated with any business or Blue Board record at ProZ.com.
Services Translation, Interpreting, Editing/proofreading
Expertise
Specializes in:
AgricultureEnergy / Power Generation
Livestock / Animal HusbandryPoetry & Literature
Medical: PharmaceuticalsMedical (general)
PsychologyInternational Org/Dev/Coop
Law: Contract(s)Law (general)

Translation education Master's degree - University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Experience Registered at ProZ.com: Jun 2019. Became a member: Jun 2019.
ProZ.com Certified PRO certificate(s) N/A
Credentials Spanish to English (Colegio de Traductores e Intérpretes de Chile )
Spanish to English (Instituto Profesional Eatri)
Spanish to English (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
English to Spanish (Colegio de Traductores e Intérpretes de Chile )
English to Spanish (Instituto Profesional Eatri)


Memberships N/A
Software Adobe Acrobat, memoQ, MemSource Cloud, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Office Pro, Microsoft Word, Powerpoint, SDL TRADOS, Wordbee, Wordfast
Professional practices Elizabeth Chivers endorses ProZ.com's Professional Guidelines.
Bio
I have been passionate about languages my entire life and even spent a year in Switzerland as a high school exchange student. However, it wasn't until after I completed my undergraduate degree in history and started to travel that I realized I could turn my passion into a career. I have been living in Santiago, Chile for the last eight years, but over the last 11 years of my life have spent time in various countries including Chile, Costa Rica, Italy, and my home country of the United States. I have been working as a translator for the last seven years, approximately, and an interpreter during the last three. I just recently completed a Master's Degree in Translation and Interpreting from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (which I did remotely from Chile), where I specialized in Translations for the Professions and Interpreting. Given the nature of this field and how quickly technology has had such a profound impact, I have become increasingly more aware of the importance of staying relevant by constantly updating my skills and knowledge and diversifying the services I am able to provide in a changing and dynamic world. As such, I strive to be able to adapt myself to my clients' needs and evolve alongside their industries as well. I look forward to working with you!


Profile last updated
Feb 3, 2020






Your current localization setting

English

Select a language

All of ProZ.com
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search