Working languages:
Norwegian to English
English to Norwegian
Swedish to English

tinea31

Local time: 22:50 CEST (GMT+2)

Native in: Norwegian Native in Norwegian
Account type Freelancer
Data security Created by Evelio Clavel-Rosales This person has a SecurePRO™ card. Because this person is not a ProZ.com Plus subscriber, to view his or her SecurePRO™ card you must be a ProZ.com Business member or Plus subscriber.
Services Translation, Editing/proofreading
Expertise
Specializes in:
Art, Arts & Crafts, PaintingArchaeology
HistorySocial Science, Sociology, Ethics, etc.
General / Conversation / Greetings / LettersTourism & Travel
Cinema, Film, TV, DramaEnvironment & Ecology
Furniture / Household AppliancesFolklore
Portfolio Sample translations submitted: 2
Experience Years of translation experience: 12. Registered at ProZ.com: Jan 2007.
ProZ.com Certified PRO certificate(s) N/A
Credentials N/A
Memberships N/A
Software Adobe Acrobat, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Powerpoint, SDL TRADOS
CV/Resume CV/Resume (DOC)
Bio
I am a 32 year old female from Norway. I would very much like to use my expertise and passion for cultures and languages in on-line translations.

Norwegian is my mother tongue; I feel confident in translating both Bokmål and Nynorsk. I have a wide range of interests, including film, literature, environment, history, art and archaeology, education as well as general topics which I would be happy to translate.

Through general training, travels and close linguistic associations I feel confident in translating from Swedish and Danish into English. I have a passion for Swedish and Danish, and I have read books and seen many films by Swedish and Danish directors.

During eight years of studies in England, I became very involved in the English language and culture, first at language school (Cambridge), then during my BA (University of London) and MA (University of York).

As part of my BA I gained a deeper understanding of Asian and African cultures. After my BA, I spent a year in Seoul (2001-2002) exploring Korean art and language. I am familiar with specialist vocabulary in Korean, Japanese and Chinese art and archaeology and their English and Norwegian counterpart.

I am also very familiar with conservation, following a course and work experiences in this field. As I wanted to build on these, from a management point of view, I started an MA in Archaeological Heritage Management. I am therefore very familiar with technical heritage and conservation jargon.

Finally, I have long experience in proofreading materials in English for fellow University students.
I have also proofread a brochure in English for an archaeological site under the Kamakura City Council, Japan. For the same project I co-translated specialist Japanese-English terminology.


Looking forward to working with you :)
This user has reported completing projects in the following job categories, language pairs, and fields.

Project History Summary
Total projects3
With client feedback0
Corroborated0
0 positive (0 entries)
positive0
neutral0
negative0

Job type
Translation3
Language pairs
Norwegian to English2
English to Norwegian1
Specialty fields
Tourism & Travel1
Other fields
Marketing / Market Research1
Business/Commerce (general)1
Keywords: Translating: general topics, appliances, manuals, furniture, tourism, travel, environment, ecology, education, ethics, conversation, greetings, letters, cinema, film, television, drama, art, folklore, craft, painting, history, painting, archaeology, architecture, conservation, social sciences....


Profile last updated
Jul 12, 2007






Your current localization setting

English

Select a language

All of ProZ.com
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search