The person shown here is a basic user of this site. He or she may be contacted directly for language-related services.


Working languages:
Finnish to Spanish
English to Spanish

mayaca

NA
Local time: 23:32 CEST (GMT+2)

Native in: Spanish Native in Spanish
  • Send message through ProZ.com
Feedback from
clients and colleagues

on Willingness to Work Again info
No feedback collected
Account type Freelancer
Data security Created by Evelio Clavel-Rosales This person has a SecurePRO™ card. Because this person is not a ProZ.com Plus subscriber, to view his or her SecurePRO™ card you must be a ProZ.com Business member or Plus subscriber.
Services Translation, Editing/proofreading, Website localization, Voiceover (dubbing), Subtitling
Expertise
Specializes in:
Automotive / Cars & TrucksShips, Sailing, Maritime
International Org/Dev/CoopTourism & Travel
Mechanics / Mech EngineeringEngineering: Industrial
General / Conversation / Greetings / LettersForestry / Wood / Timber
Advertising / Public RelationsEnvironment & Ecology

Blue Board entries made by this user  0 entries
Experience Years of translation experience: 11. Registered at ProZ.com: Dec 2008.
ProZ.com Certified PRO certificate(s) N/A
Credentials Finnish to Spanish (Spanish Translation Diploma)
Memberships N/A
Software Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, OmegaT, Powerpoint, Wordfast
About me
Nationality: Finnish / Mexican
Currently living in: Colmar, France
Born: 18/09/1980

I have already acquired, through my studies, extracurricular activities, and my work, a rather extensive translation experience, which I would like to put to good service. I translate mainly into Spanish and English. However, my working languages are English, Finnish, French and Spanish.

Although I only have 4 years working experience as a translator, I have always been fascinated by this science, acquiring my very own first dictionary at the tender age of 8. Language, its versatility, and cultural ingredients are an innate fascination. Through my education the notions of the languages in which I work have been refined, trough my international working experience and travels I have acquired an acute intercultural understanding and knowledge of human nature.

During my student years I proofread my colleagues' academic works and worked in the Committee for Development Cooperation of the Student Union of the University of Turku in all language matters, from correspondent to annual activities and budget reports' translator, language management, and also was a very active part in project management. Nowadays I have specialized in technical translation, mainly in heavy machinery, forest and maritime industries. I am very detailed and thorough in my work. I work mainly with Wordfast, secondly Trados, and have at some point used OmegaT.

Currently I am working on my Master's Degree for the University of Turku, Finland. It is, however, on hold since I intend to pursue a Master's Degree on International Relations at the ITI-RI (Institut de Traducteurs, d'Interprètes et de Relations Internationales) in Strasbourg, France.


Further information on working experience and education can be found on my CV.

Sincerely,

Maaret Cañedo Lohikoski

PS: Below, a little introduction to my personality (it's nice to know who you hire)

Some personal characteristics:
Good traits:
a) I am a very intellectually oriented person. I pride myself in a constant will to learn and ability to marvel about things, although I am critical and analytical. I am, however, creative, imaginative, have good initiative and also am very resourceful.
b) I enjoy working independently and I am usually satisfied with my results. I thrive on a good job, rapidly and well executed. Emotionally I am quite stable, although shaking events may bother my peace of mind (e.g. 9/11, the passing away of a close one). I am serious and conscientious, I accept responsibilities if they help me develop professionally.
c) I have a good sense of humor. I do enjoy a hearty laugh. And I am always dressed according to circumstances.

Not so very good traits:
a) If I am treated like a dog, I bark. And that is the only thing that can be expected of me. I am obedient if my human dignity is not at stake.
b) If I do not feel interaction during team work nor feel surrounded by team-mates professionally on the same level, I tend to do the work myself. Moreover, I take the credit for myself.
c) I do not own a driving license and do not intend to acquire one.
Keywords: spanish, english, finnish, development cooperation, heavy machinery, forest industry, maritime industry


Profile last updated
Mar 17, 2010



More translators and interpreters: Finnish to Spanish - English to Spanish   More language pairs



Your current localization setting

English

Select a language

All of ProZ.com
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search