Working languages:
Russian to English
French to English
Arabic to English

karlin
Multi-lingual translator

London, England
Local time: 06:46 BST (GMT+1)

Native in: English 
  Display standardized information
Bio
I am a Half-Swedish, half-English translator with 28 years of travelling experience, including living in Russia, Morocco, Sweden, and extensive travels all over Europe and Scandinavia.
My education includes a BA Hons in Russian Studies with Arabic, plus MA in Conflict, Development and Security - both from Leeds University, UK. Particular interests and training outside my languages are in international politics and relations, international strategic issues, and counter- and anti-terrorism studies (my MA thesis was based on this area). My French speaking and general translation has remained high since my A-Level exam and contine to use it as a working language.
I have 4 years (seasonal work) experience teaching English to Foreign students - children and adults- in the UK, and have often had foreign students living in my home environment.

I received my BA Hons degree in Russian and Arabic in 2001 and also won the Arabic Literature prize with my certificate for my dissertation 'The Impact of the Arabian Nights on Contemporary Western Culture'. I received my MA degree in September 2003, my thesis was called 'Raping the Matrix - The Future of fighting Global Terrorism', and am now eager to set myself up as a translator/person with knowledge in my chosen fields. I also have a passion for anything related to music, the performing arts and European literature.

I have successfully taught English (grammar, listening and speaking) to foreign students as part of the Oxford Intensive School of English.
After passing an exclusive RAF cadet leadership course in 1997, I applied to the British Army and was offered a Short Service Commission as an officer - one of my greatest achievements to date. I have also successfully run my own book business selling educational books and media to children aged 3-19 years. I have almost 6 years experience working in a law enforcement environment and have knowledge of UK civil and criminal law. I currently work as a civil servant for the Home Office in the UK, where I use all my languages as part of my role.

In my spare time, I enjoy writing and performing music, outdoors sports (summer and winter), travelling, cooking and motorcycling.
Keywords: International politics, international relations, strategic studies, English literature, Russian literature, French litrature, Arabian Nights, counter-terrorism, anti-terrorism, Middle East politics, law enforcement, poetry, drama, travel, children's books, military, Morocco, Russia, Sweden, France, UK, motorcycling.


Profile last updated
Jun 8, 2013






Your current localization setting

English

Select a language

All of ProZ.com
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search