Member since Jun '18

Working languages:
Swedish to Portuguese
Portuguese to Swedish
English to Swedish
Swedish to English
Portuguese to English

Alexandra Gomes da Costa
Life experience over all!

Velha Boipeba, Bahia, Brazil
Local time: 21:19 BRT (GMT-3)

Native in: Swedish Native in Swedish
  • Send message through ProZ.com
Feedback from
clients and colleagues

on Willingness to Work Again info
No feedback collected
What Alexandra Gomes da Costa is working on
info
Nov 4 (posted via ProZ.com):  Started with an editing project for Lingual Consultancy, finished first 1000 words waiting for next assignment ...more, + 1 other entry »
Total word count: 0

Account type Freelance translator and/or interpreter
Data security Created by Evelio Clavel-Rosales This person has a SecurePRO™ card. Because this person is not a ProZ.com Plus subscriber, to view his or her SecurePRO™ card you must be a ProZ.com Business member or Plus subscriber.
Services Translation, Interpreting, Editing/proofreading, Voiceover (dubbing), Subtitling, MT post-editing, Training, Project management, Transcreation, Transcription
Expertise
Specializes in:
Education / PedagogyTourism & Travel

KudoZ activity (PRO) Questions asked: 1
Experience Registered at ProZ.com: May 2018. Became a member: Jun 2018.
ProZ.com Certified PRO certificate(s) N/A
Credentials N/A
Memberships N/A
Software Adobe Acrobat, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Office Pro, Microsoft Word, SDL TRADOS, Wordfast
Bio

So, I was born and raised in Sweden as the oldest of four by a Portuguese mother and Swedish father. Then from the beginning my life was a mix of cultures and languages. The yearly summer-drives from the north of Sweden to the south of Portugal inspired a great interest in traveling. After completing high school with a linguistic focus I completed with a one year science course (math, chemistry, physics, biology) before I moved on tho the university of Lund where I studied Literature for two years (course material in Swedish and English) and later did a one year writing course. I also wrote articles and reviews for the university´s literary journal. 

Since I personally like studying I have also attended to a college summer course in law and a semi presenced Portuguese course at Stockholm's university.

After all that studying I threw myself to the world by making my first travel to India. After eight months of traveling there and in Nepal I came back to Sweden to work to finance more travels. After hitchhiking to Berlin and then working some in Copenhagen I then traveled to Brazil that has been my home ever since. 

During these 11 years I have devoted most of my time to the education of my children, 8 and 10. Since I'm living in a corrupt developing country I have found it crucial to home school them witch isn't that hard nowadays with the help of advancing technology. For the social/ human aspect they have attended to the public school of in the community.

Since I have difficulties staying in the same field for a long time so my experience of different jobs is wast and I will just give some examples here:

Machine-operator in several factories, Cederroth, Absolut Vodka, SSAB (crane and forklift operating)

Security guard

Freelance journalist equestrian sports 5 years Kristianstadsbladet

Teacher for age 10-15 , Swedish, Swedish for immigrants, English and math.

Private teacher english

I have also opened a vegetarian restaurant where I did all  the cooking and, I  finally, for the last 10 years, I have acted as a masseuse and holistic therapist. 

A part from my studies and work I am a simple person living as sustainable as I can, teaching my kids what I can in this ever changing world and surround myself with nature and animals. 




Profile last updated
Aug 24






Your current localization setting

English

Select a language

All of ProZ.com
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search