https://www.proz.com/forum/linguistics/22005-common_spelling_mistakes_children_make.html

Common spelling mistakes children make
Thread poster: Andrea Ali
Andrea Ali
Andrea Ali  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 14:27
Member (2003)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 14, 2004

Hi, everybody!

Which are the common spelling mistakes an English/American native 7/8-year-old-child makes?

How do teachers mark these mistakes when correcting a child's work other than dictations?

This is just for me to have an idea. As a former ESL teacher I would just point out the mistake and ask the child to provide the right spelling. Not in a dictation, of course.

Now my daughter is learning ESL at school. She is in second grade and the t
... See more
Hi, everybody!

Which are the common spelling mistakes an English/American native 7/8-year-old-child makes?

How do teachers mark these mistakes when correcting a child's work other than dictations?

This is just for me to have an idea. As a former ESL teacher I would just point out the mistake and ask the child to provide the right spelling. Not in a dictation, of course.

Now my daughter is learning ESL at school. She is in second grade and the teacher takes points off for spelling mistakes I am sure a native child makes! This is very discouraging, isn't it?

Thanks!
Andrea
Collapse

Marcus Malabad
Marcus Malabad  Identity Verified
Canada
German to English
+ ...
their travelling untill when? Jun 14, 2004

for starters:

they\'re - there - their
you\'re - your - yore
alot - a lot
untill - until

(and for the longest time, I couldn\'t spell \'traveling\' [travelling] correctly)

Alison Schwitzgebel
Alison Schwitzgebel
France
Local time: 19:27
German to English
+ ...
Quite and quiet Jun 14, 2004

lose and loose
writing and writting

Just some of the ones I remember having problems with way back when...

Melissa Field
Melissa Field  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:27
German to English
+ ...
here are a few Jun 14, 2004

Andrea,