https://www.proz.com/forum/money_matters/96313-how_2_charge_for_add_copy_localization.html

How 2 charge for add copy/localization?
Thread poster: Jose Ruivo
Jose Ruivo
Jose Ruivo  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 08:43
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Feb 6, 2008

Hi All,

I've been translating marketing brochures for several years, and always got paid at my normal rate - no big deal for me, as I really enjoy the extra fight it sometimes puts up

Now, however, I may be in a position to translate, adapte, localize, adverstisments, in brochures or not. It's not just "sweet talking" anymore, it goes into taking double (or multiple) senses wording, and conveying that into
... See more
Hi All,

I've been translating marketing brochures for several years, and always got paid at my normal rate - no big deal for me, as I really enjoy the extra fight it sometimes puts up

Now, however, I may be in a position to translate, adapte, localize, adverstisments, in brochures or not. It's not just "sweet talking" anymore, it goes into taking double (or multiple) senses wording, and conveying that into my mother language. In a way, I'll be doing similar work to copywriter, no?

Expecting to have by now explained what I have in mind.... How do guys normally charge for this kind of work?

Sugestions, please?

TIA,
Jose
Collapse

Natalia Eklund
Natalia Eklund  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 09:43
French to English
+ ...
Copywriting charged by the hour Feb 6, 2008

Beyond translating, copywriting requires extra steps in the process.

1) Create a briefing based on your analysis of their communication strategy and compare it with the strategy set up by the company. This includes the message they wish to express and the target group. Also, this includes whether or not the target group changes in the new language.

2) Brainstorm on different approaches to recreate this in the new language

3) Prepare some examples to submit
... See more