https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/31212-how_to_count_years_of_experience.html

How to count years of experience
Thread poster: cello
cello
cello  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:13
Spanish to English
+ ...
Apr 11, 2005

Hello everyone!
I've been reading through the forum questions on getting established and I would be grateful for your advice on my 'problem': How can I (without bending the truth) count my years of experience as a translator?
At the moment I am in the process of seriously establishing myself as a freelance translator (updating my CV etc.) I am British and I graduated in 1989 with a degree in French and Spanish. Since graduating I have lived in Spain and my main income has come from
... See more
Hello everyone!
I've been reading through the forum questions on getting established and I would be grateful for your advice on my 'problem': How can I (without bending the truth) count my years of experience as a translator?
At the moment I am in the process of seriously establishing myself as a freelance translator (updating my CV etc.) I am British and I graduated in 1989 with a degree in French and Spanish. Since graduating I have lived in Spain and my main income has come from TEFL teaching/management, although I have translated on and off since I arrived here.
Four years ago, with some friends, I set up a company to bill for translations, proof reading etc, so I have been a part-time translator for four years. However, to become a member of professional organizations, and on our Proz profile, you are required to state years of full time experience.
I don't want to lie, and on the other hand I don't want to sell myself short. Is there some kind of formula for calculating full-time experience?
Incidentally - in the credentials section of the profile - does a degree in languages count? I've looked at several other member profiles and they have included their degree in both "education" and "credentials"
Thanks in advance...