https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/95678-tag_editor%3A_corrupted_doc_file.html

Tag Editor: corrupted .doc file
Thread poster: Cristina Cajoto
Cristina Cajoto
Cristina Cajoto  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:30
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 30, 2008

Hello everyone,

I have been using Trados 7 Freelance for only three months, and last week I had a problem with a .doc file that I am very worried about. The document was quite large (1 MB) and contained lots of text boxes, so I translated it with Tag Editor instead of Workbench. After I had translated the whole document, I saved the target text as a .doc file, which seemed to work fine, but when I opened this file the text was a complete mess: it was all out of place and there was e
... See more
Hello everyone,

I have been using Trados 7 Freelance for only three months, and last week I had a problem with a .doc file that I am very worried about. The document was quite large (1 MB) and contained lots of text boxes, so I translated it with Tag Editor instead of Workbench. After I had translated the whole document, I saved the target text as a .doc file, which seemed to work fine, but when I opened this file the text was a complete mess: it was all out of place and there was even some text missing. When I was checking the file, I suddenly got a message saying that the file was corrupted and it had to be closed. I repeated the whole process several times, and I even used a different computer, in case this was the problem, but it didn't work. Do you have any idea why this could happen? I am worried about my future translations: I regularly receive very large power point documents, which I was planning on translating with Tag Editor, but I obviously don't want this to happen again.

Has this ever happened to you? Do you think the size of the document might be the reason for this?

Thank you very much for your help.

Cristina.
Collapse

Pavel Blann
Pavel Blann  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
English to Czech