Member since Apr '15

Working languages:
German to English

Rachel Goodwin
Freelance translator and proof-reader

Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Local time: 19:46 GMT (GMT+0)

Native in: English Native in English
  • Send message through ProZ.com
Feedback from
clients and colleagues

on Willingness to Work Again info
1 positive review
Account type Freelance translator and/or interpreter, Identity Verified Verified member
Data security Created by Evelio Clavel-Rosales This person has a SecurePRO™ card. Because this person is not a ProZ.com Plus subscriber, to view his or her SecurePRO™ card you must be a ProZ.com Business member or Plus subscriber.
Affiliations This person is not affiliated with any business or Blue Board record at ProZ.com.
Services Translation, Editing/proofreading
Expertise
Specializes in:
Psychology
KudoZ activity (PRO) PRO-level points: 8, Questions answered: 9
Translation education Other - Leeds Beckett University
Experience Years of experience: 6. Registered at ProZ.com: Oct 2014. Became a member: Apr 2015.
ProZ.com Certified PRO certificate(s) N/A
Credentials N/A
Memberships N/A
Software Microsoft Word, Powerpoint
CV/Resume CV available upon request
Events and training
Bio

EXPERIENCE AND QUALIFICATIONS

I gained an 'A' level in German at school and took a year out to do work experience in Germany before continuing to study the language for a further 2 years at York College. I went on to work in Frankfurt at Dresdner Bank Asset Management, where I loved working with, and becoming immersed in, the language. As my love of German has never wained, I decided in my 40s to go back to studying and went on to achieve Distinction in Diploma of German and Related Studies and finally a high 2:1 in BA in Language and Related Studies.

I have been running my own business for the last 12 years and understand the importance of client satisfaction. I am a conscientious and reliable worker and am eager to prove to potential clients my ability in the use of the German language, being open to translation work in all fields of expertise. In addition, I feel I have a very good command of the English language and am able to distinguish between word-for-word translation and applying terminology that conveys the correct meaning and sentiment of the source expression.

ON A PERSONAL NOTE ...

I am a 52 year old mother of two.  Although they are now grown up,  the children and I have enjoyed years of campervan trips to a.o. Europe, including a trip to the South of Germany; it was wonderful being able to speak on a daily basis with the locals. I received many compliments on my ability to converse easily, but the overall reaction was one of surprise. I guess that is down to the fact that most people whose mother tongue is English expect everyone to be able to speak it, and are making little or no attempt to learn other languages.

I think it is so important to make the effort, and I am glad that both my children enjoyed learning languages at school and I hope that they continue to strengthen their abilities to communicate and interact with people from other countries. This will also give them a wider and more enjoyable understanding and appreciation of different cultures.

I am very approachable and look forward to being considered for any work you may have. Thank you for taking the time to read this little bit about me!

This user has earned KudoZ points by helping other translators with PRO-level terms. Click point total(s) to see term translations provided.

Total pts earned: 8
(All PRO level)


Language (PRO)
German to English8
Top general fields (PRO)
Law/Patents4
Bus/Financial4
Top specific fields (PRO)
IT (Information Technology)4
Law (general)4

See all points earned >
Keywords: german, psychology, music


Profile last updated
Jun 26, 2020



More translators and interpreters: German to English   More language pairs



Your current localization setting

English

Select a language

All of ProZ.com
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search