Working languages:
Spanish to Dutch
Dutch to Spanish
English to Spanish

Guillemette Koning
Building bridges between people, culture

San Jose de Maipo, Region Metropolitana
Local time: 15:42 CLST (GMT-3)

Native in: Dutch 
Account type Freelance translator and/or interpreter, Identity Verified Verified site user
Data security Created by Evelio Clavel-Rosales This person has a SecurePRO™ card. Because this person is not a Plus subscriber, to view his or her SecurePRO™ card you must be a Business member or Plus subscriber.
Affiliations This person is not affiliated with any business or Blue Board record at
Services Translation, Interpreting
Specializes in:
Law (general)Government / Politics
Finance (general)Esoteric practices
Education / PedagogyCinema, Film, TV, Drama
Social Science, Sociology, Ethics, etc.

Spanish to Dutch - Rates: 0.06 - 0.12 EUR per word / 50 - 120 EUR per hour
Dutch to Spanish - Rates: 0.06 - 0.12 EUR per word / 50 - 120 EUR per hour
English to Spanish - Rates: 0.06 - 0.11 EUR per word / 50 - 120 EUR per hour
English to Dutch - Rates: 0.06 - 0.11 EUR per word / 50 - 120 EUR per hour
Spanish to English - Rates: 0.06 - 0.12 EUR per word / 50 - 120 EUR per hour

KudoZ activity (PRO) PRO-level points: 8, Questions answered: 3, Questions asked: 3
Payment methods accepted PayPal, Wire transfer | Send a payment via ProZ*Pay
Translation education Bachelor's degree - VERTOL
Experience Years of experience: 30. Registered at Apr 2008. Certified PRO certificate(s) N/A
Credentials Spanish to Dutch (Bureau for Sworn Interpreters and Translators)
Dutch to Spanish (Bureau for Sworn Interpreters and Translators)
Memberships N/A
Software Adobe Acrobat, MetaTexis, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Office Pro, Microsoft Word, Powerpoint, SDL TRADOS, Wordbee
Events and training
Born in Holland (The Netherlands) in 1964, I studied 6 languages at school (Dutch, English, French, German, Latin and Greek. Latin and Greek meant translating on a daily basis for several years at school, and I seemed to do quite well.

I've always been very interested in other cultures and languages. I've always liked travelling and communicating with people from other places.

After school I studied Sociology for 3 years, but found little of what I was looking for, so started working and later studied in the evening Pedagogics, which I did finish.

I was looking for combining my interest in other cultures, travelling and in education and offered myself as a volunteer in Chile, and after a year of very interesting experiences, I found out I'd learned Spanish quite fluently and decided to study for translator and interpreter. In 1995 I finished succesfully my translation studies at VERTOL and decided to go for the very difficult Dutch State Exam in those days, which I passed succesfully as well. Based on my diploma's I became a sworn translator in the Netherlands and are now registered in the WBTV register.

In 1996, I emigrated to Chile, and I've lived and worked there ever since. Spanish has become like a second native language to me.

I've worked as a translator and interpreter ever since 1991, doing all kinds of jobs, from poetry to legal and medical documents. For the last few years I've been the only sworn translator in Chile, which has meant a great deal of legal and business translations. I've taken specialization courses in this area as well.
As I've worked as a teacher in banks, hospitals and for private professionals, I've learned a lot about those specific areas too.

I consider myself as a bridge between people, between countries and cultures, trying to express the intentions of the author in an accessible way for the target audience.

Profile last updated
Oct 1, 2019

More translators and interpreters: Spanish to Dutch - Dutch to Spanish - English to Spanish   More language pairs

Your current localization setting


Select a language

All of
  • All of
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search