NAATI exam
Thread poster: AL151
AL151
AL151
English to Chinese
Jun 9, 2008

Hi there,
(1)I am intending to take a NAATI exam for Chinese-English and although my profession is in the legal practice, and not translation per se, I have daily used my language skills to translate documents from English to Chinese. As I intend to use the accreditation for skilled migration purposes, I am wondering whether there is any truth that one has to be in active practice as a full time translator for this purpose?I think this is unclear in the rules.

(2) I understand
... See more
Hi there,
(1)I am intending to take a NAATI exam for Chinese-English and although my profession is in the legal practice, and not translation per se, I have daily used my language skills to translate documents from English to Chinese. As I intend to use the accreditation for skilled migration purposes, I am wondering whether there is any truth that one has to be in active practice as a full time translator for this purpose?I think this is unclear in the rules.

(2) I understand we are allowed to use electronic dictionaries but not one which has translation of phrases but would this apply to proverbs? Or is it better just to use a dictionary manually to be safe?

(3) I have also been hunting for dictionaries for the old-form Chinese but do not seem to have any luck here. Any recommendation?

Thank you.

AL
Collapse

Eleonor Palacio
Eleonor Palacio  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:13
English to Spanish
NAATI Exam Jun 10, 2008

Hi there,

1-In regards the first question, it is unclear to me what exactly are you asking. I am currently a NAATI accredited translator and from last year, to be active in the profession those ones who gain accreditation through examination have to sit the exam every three years to retain such accreditation.

As for the first time you sit the exam, there is no requirement that you will have to become a full time professional translator, in fact, not many accredited tran