Thread poster: Jacqueline Ball
Jacqueline Ball
Jacqueline Ball  Identity Verified
Local time: 15:08
Member (2012)
German to English
Aug 9, 2012

Hi there,

I have recently purchased SDL Trados 2011. I am a fairly new translator and previously I was using Wordfast Anywhere, which was great, but had too many limitations (understandably for a a free tool) for the long-term. I spent a long time weighing up the advantages of various tools before making the decision to go with Trados, and I'm a little concerned that despite my research I overlooked a major limitation in Studio, and have made the wrong decision.

My main
... See more
Hi there,

I have recently purchased SDL Trados 2011. I am a fairly new translator and previously I was using Wordfast Anywhere, which was great, but had too many limitations (understandably for a a free tool) for the long-term. I spent a long time weighing up the advantages of various tools before making the decision to go with Trados, and I'm a little concerned that despite my research I overlooked a major limitation in Studio, and have made the wrong decision.

My main client nearly always requires me to deliver unclean bilingual Word documents (they work in Trados 2007). They send me Word documents, I import to Wordfast Anywhere, translate, export as a bilingual Word document. Very straightforward.

Is it possible to export a bilingual Word document from Studio 2011? I have read forums that require you to pre-segment the Word document in Trados Workbench before importing into Studio. Is there any way around this for those of us who don't have Trados Workbench?

Thanks very much in advance for any help anyone can offer.

Kind regards,
Jacqueline
Collapse

Post removed: This post was hidden by a moderator or staff member because it was not in line with site rule
RWS Community
RWS Community
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:08
English
Why is it the solutions in the Trados forum are always non Trados? Aug 9, 2012

Dominique Pivard wrote: