Joseann Freyer-Lindner
Joseann Freyer-Lindner  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 22:08
Member (2014)
English to German
+ ...
Dec 30, 2015

Hello, I am a beginner with Trados (2015) and I struggle with tags. I have found how to copy them from source text into target text, but it seems, there are different ways how to do this and each has different consequences.
Right now I have (inline and place holder) tags in my target text that have little tiny, orange "lock-symbols" at the front and end, and those that don't. If I use the command STRG+, and choose a tag from the proposed list, I get the "lock-symbols", the tag symbol and t
... See more
Hello, I am a beginner with Trados (2015) and I struggle with tags. I have found how to copy them from source text into target text, but it seems, there are different ways how to do this and each has different consequences.
Right now I have (inline and place holder) tags in my target text that have little tiny, orange "lock-symbols" at the front and end, and those that don't. If I use the command STRG+, and choose a tag from the proposed list, I get the "lock-symbols", the tag symbol and the enclosed text, if I use the STRG+mouseclick, I copy only the tags, but not the text they include.
But both tags are locked. So I can't actually delete those tags without a lock (that should have a lock as well) and replace them with the correct tag with locks. They are both protected and cannot be changed, which is a problem, as some of them should have locks, but don't. I found in the menu under options the possibility to "protect tags" (in general) and I should be able to just change this setting, but for some reason I can't.