Setting a VPN while using Zone Alarm
Thread poster: Natalie

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 18:26
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
Dec 24, 2006

Dear colleagues,

I wonder if anyone has some experience in setting a VPN under Win XP with Zone Alarm active. I am afraid I have some problem doing this.

I set a VPN for entering the corporate intra network from home. I provided the domain name and added this VPN to Zone Alarm trusted zones. So far so good.

When trying to connect to the vpn server I enter my username/password (when prompted) and get the "connecting" message. After some time another message appears: connection could not be established.

The administrator of the network to which I am trying to connect told me that he does not see my computer trying to login.

Moreover, my Zone Alarm does not detect any outgoing activity which means that most probably I have missed something in the settings. Is there any VPN guru out there who could help me with an advice?


 

John Jory  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:26
Member (2004)
English to German
+ ...
Are you using a router? Dec 24, 2006

I'm not an expert by any means, but I know from personal experience that a router can represent an obstacle.

 

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 18:26
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
TOPIC STARTER
Hi John Dec 24, 2006

No, I don't. I have a cable modem.

BTW, the destination server can be pinged OK.


 

Ritu Bhanot  Identity Verified
France
Member (2006)
French to Hindi
+ ...
HP Online classes Dec 25, 2006

Hi,

Why don't you search in HP Online classes

http://www.hp.com/united-states/hho/classes/index.html?jumpid=re_R602_mktg/hpcom/split/oc

Recently they had something about a similar topic and it's free.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Ritu


 

franksf
Chinese to English
Allow me to ask Dec 25, 2006

Have you done the obvious -- disbale ZA and run VPN to help rule out other possibilities and nail the issue down to ZA?

 

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 18:26
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
TOPIC STARTER
I did Dec 25, 2006

Ritu Bhanot wrote:
Why don't you search in HP Online classes


Of course, I did. And also tried many things suggested at such sites. It did not help.


 

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 18:26
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
TOPIC STARTER
Sure, I did Dec 25, 2006

franksf wrote:

Have you done the obvious -- disbale ZA and run VPN to help rule out other possibilities and nail the issue down to ZA?


There was no connection either. And I don't think that ZA is the only 'guilty' or 'guilty' at all. But it is a good indicator of network activity. As I stated in my first posting, "Zone Alarm does not detect any outgoing activity which means that most probably I have missed something in the settings".


 

franksf
Chinese to English
VPN settings Dec 27, 2006

"... I have missed something in the settings."

I have not run VPN for a long time by now, what are the settings -- encryption method, key length, key non-expiration period, ... , vpn is at the ip level not the ports, you are right ZA probably should not matter. Is there a way to generate some logs during the running of the client connection? Running the vpn client in a verbose way and send the output to your vpn server admin? Possible to dump WinXP networking and system logs to a plain text file?


 

Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 18:26
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
TOPIC STARTER
Problem solved Dec 27, 2006

Thank you everybody, the problem has been solved by now. There were two different issues, one at my side (one of the protocols was missing), the other at the side of the intranet (the network admin made a mistake while registering my username).

 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Setting a VPN while using Zone Alarm

Advanced search






Wordfast Pro
Translation Memory Software for Any Platform

Exclusive discount for ProZ.com users! Save over 13% when purchasing Wordfast Pro through ProZ.com. Wordfast is the world's #1 provider of platform-independent Translation Memory software. Consistently ranked the most user-friendly and highest value

More info »
CafeTran Espresso
You've never met a CAT tool this clever!

Translate faster & easier, using a sophisticated CAT tool built by a translator / developer. Accept jobs from clients who use SDL Trados, MemoQ, Wordfast & major CAT tools. Download and start using CafeTran Espresso -- for free

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search