UK: Anyone heard of the new "Chartered Translator" diploma?
Thread poster: BabelOn-line
BabelOn-line
BabelOn-line
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:43
English to French
+ ...
Jul 1, 2004

I run a small agency in London and I am myself an English -> French translator.

Since I have no formal training as a translator, I recently called the three main professional bodies (IOL, ITI and ATC) to find out about two points:

- what sort of value did their membership offer in terms of “guarantee” for the client (i.e. was the membership giving a clear indication of someone's professional abilities)

- how do they assess the skills of their new member
... See more
I run a small agency in London and I am myself an English -> French translator.

Since I have no formal training as a translator, I recently called the three main professional bodies (IOL, ITI and ATC) to find out about two points:

- what sort of value did their membership offer in terms of “guarantee” for the client (i.e. was the membership giving a clear indication of someone's professional abilities)

- how do they assess the skills of their new members (exam, diploma, years of experience, …)

The IOL seems to have more stringent standards (one needs to pass their in-house exam), which seems more reasonable than granting a membership to anyone willing to pay an annual fee.

Now, the IOL person told me there should be a new “Chartered Translator” diploma available in the next two years, and that the IOL should be the body in charge of delivering such a diploma. The hint was, if you pass your exam and get your membership with the IOL now, you may automatically gain this Chartered Translator status, which would be, according to them, the only recognised professional qualification.

Does anyone know about this diploma? What would you recommend as a professional membership? Are they really worth the money?

Thank you!
Collapse

Jesús Marín Mateos
Jesús Marín Mateos  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:43
English to Spanish