Unsolicited Email Address Confirmation
Thread poster: Hipyan Nopri

Hipyan Nopri  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:14
Member (2005)
English to Indonesian
+ ...
Dec 16, 2006

Dear Colleagues,

In the beginning of this month, I found an unauthoirsed change of my email address and password for Moneybookers. To solve the problem I have changed my email address and password.

Now, there have been two unsolicited email address (for my Moneybookers account) confirmation requests. I never respond them. I deleted them at once instead.
Here is the request:


Dear Moneybookers Customer,

You have added ellenk@jewishcharleston.org as a new email address for your
Moneybookers account.

Please login to your account :


Thank you for using Moneybookers!


I always leave my account blank. Every time I receive money transfer, I transfer it immediately to my bank account.

Do you ever experience the same thing? Should I close my account now, or is it still to keep using it?

Thank you very much for your invaluable input.

Kind Regards

Hipyan Nopri


Irina Romanova-Wasike
Russian Federation
Local time: 13:14
English to Russian
Same thing Dec 16, 2006

Dear Hipyan!
I got exactly the same message (as a matter of fact 4 on each of my email accounts). Forwarded one to the Moneybookers support center, so far no reply. Guess that too many people bombarded them with mails regarding the same issue.

I've checked my profile and there is no any other email address that is added apart from mine. Relief...icon_smile.gif
I'm sort of scared as well, but the account is a necessity to me and I also withdraw as soon as the more or less significant amount is received.

I wonder if anybody was affected in some serious way while using Monebookers.


Lucica Abil  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:14
Member (2005)
Italian to Romanian
+ ...

Same here Dec 16, 2006

Hi Hipyan and Irina,

I forwarded the message to Moneybookers and got this reply:

„We would like to confirm that this message was NOT sent by Moneybookers, and strongly advise you not to follow the instructions contained in this email.”

Safe computing!



esperantisto  Identity Verified
Local time: 13:14
Member (2006)
English to Russian
+ ...
To me, it looks like fishing Dec 16, 2006

I bet, the link you're asked to follow leads to some weird address, not to the Monebookers site. So, check to see it by pointing it with your mouse (but DON'T click on it!) and look either at the pop-up text box or to the status bar (depending on your mail program or web browser). Most probably, the real link address will be different from the text.


Irina Romanova-Wasike
Russian Federation
Local time: 13:14
English to Russian
Probably phishing... Dec 17, 2006

It seems to be more likely.
Though every message of such kind is quite stressing...
One starts wondering how safe the hard earned money are with the online bankers. . .

I'm operating Moneybookers and PayPal accounts for little more than a year, hope to continue using their services for long time to come and hope they will always provide an adequate security.

Some risks we have to take, provided all the necessary precautions are in place.

Safe computing to all!icon_smile.gif



Heike Behl, Ph.D.  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:14
Member (2003)
English to German
+ ...
Phishing - no doubt Dec 17, 2006

If they know detailed information regarding your account, they must also know your name. Why then the generic address: Dear Moneybookers customer???

This is just one of the typical phishing tactics where they try to scare you into a rash reaction. No need to change anything at Moneybookers since they have nothing to do with it.

Genuine e-mails of that kind should
- address you by your full name (but I even received a phishing e-mail with my full name!)
- never give you a link to click on in the e-mail for you to sign in. They should always ask you to go to their site and log in - as you usually would.


Hipyan Nopri  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:14
Member (2005)
English to Indonesian
+ ...
Yes, it must be phishing Dec 18, 2006

Thank you very much fellow translators for sharing your experience. Indeed, this latest case must be worried about. Therefore, I will always leave my MB account empty. I use it just to facilitate payment from my foreign clients because it is relatively cheap, fast, and 'safe' (?).

I put quotation marks on the last quality because prior to this latest case, someone unauthorisedly changed my email address and/or password exclusively used for MB. Indeed, I successfully logged in by using the 'Forget password' button and made my new email address and password (extremely complicated one).

Thanks for sharing, but any further comments would be really appreciated.


Harry Hermawan
Local time: 17:14
Member (2005)
English to Indonesian
Sibuk terus nih...hehehe WEB FORGERY says GOOGLE tool bar Dec 18, 2006

Hipyan Nopri wrote:
Hipyan Nopri

My Google tool bar says it's "WEB FORGERY", in any case the link that was given is linked somewhere else.

All I did was just inform my email provider with the "SPAM" tag.

Problems solve. Again a word of advice NEVER give password out.

Ambo sibuk trus kah? Yan...

Kapan ke JAKARTA lagi da?



To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

Unsolicited Email Address Confirmation

Advanced search

SDL MultiTerm 2019
Guarantee a unified, consistent and high-quality translation with terminology software by the industry leaders.

SDL MultiTerm 2019 allows translators to create one central location to store and manage multilingual terminology, and with SDL MultiTerm Extract 2019 you can automatically create term lists from your existing documentation to save time.

More info »
PerfectIt consistency checker
Faster Checking, Greater Accuracy

PerfectIt helps deliver error-free documents. It improves consistency, ensures quality and helps to enforce style guides. It’s a powerful tool for pro users, and comes with the assurance of a 30-day money back guarantee.

More info »

  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search