How to translate Quark files with Trados?
Thread poster: Silvina Jover-Cirillo (X)
Silvina Jover-Cirillo (X)
Silvina Jover-Cirillo (X)
United States
Local time: 10:23
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 18, 2005

Hello everybody!

I've never done it before, but I might have to translate a Quark file. I have Trados and I know it can be done with TagEditor.
Any good sites to find out how to do it? Is anybody willing to tell me how?

It seems rather difficult. What I don't understand is the following: do I need to have Quark? I don't think so. So, should my client send me the files already in .qsc format if I don't have Quark?

I got to the point that I'm kind of l
... See more
Hello everybody!

I've never done it before, but I might have to translate a Quark file. I have Trados and I know it can be done with TagEditor.
Any good sites to find out how to do it? Is anybody willing to tell me how?

It seems rather difficult. What I don't understand is the following: do I need to have Quark? I don't think so. So, should my client send me the files already in .qsc format if I don't have Quark?

I got to the point that I'm kind of lost.

I appreciate all your help!
Collapse

Vito Smolej
Vito Smolej
Germany
Local time: 16:23
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
I guess you will need Quark Aug 18, 2005

Maybe there's ways around this issue, but my experience is that after a long search to avoid the isssue, I had to give in and get Quark.

Read the chapter 5 in fileFormatsref_en.pdf for detailed and accurate, as far as my experience goes, description of the process.

In essence you do need QXP twice: first to export the contents of your file(s) to a Tag-editor-compatible form and then to import the translated and cleaned result back into the QXP file.

If i
... See more
Maybe there's ways around this issue, but my experience is that after a long search to avoid the isssue, I had to give in and get Quark.