Navigating between segments in Trados
Thread poster: Owen Witesman
Owen Witesman
Owen Witesman
Local time: 12:51
Finnish to English
+ ...
Jul 10, 2007

I'm totally new to Trados...have been using Wordfast.

Has anyone figured out a way to make navigating between segments in word easy? Like, oops I need to go back to the previous line...so I push...

I've been using Wordfast where I can just do alt up and alt down, but all the messages I've found posted around on navigating in Trados make it sound like you need like four key strokes. There's got to be a way to have this be easy.

Marion Lurf
Marion Lurf  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:51
English to German
+ ...
Not that I know of... Jul 11, 2007

Hi Owen,

I'm afraid there is no other solution than to close the current segment and re-open the previous one "manually". I too have a habit of going back to previous segments, so if anyone finds a way to do this with a single command/short-cut, please feel free to post it here!

Marion

Marek Buchtel
Marek Buchtel  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
Local time: 20:51
Member (2005)
English to Czech
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Not possible Jul 11, 2007

AFAIK, there's no easy way to navigate to the previous segment in Trados. You really need more keystrokes.

The navigation is one of the advantages of Wordfast.

Richard Hall
Richard Hall  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 14:51
Italian to English
+ ...
Special Macro Jul 11, 2007

Yves Champollion wrote a special word macro that would open the previous Trados segment. I just checked and it appears that the macro is no longer available. If you contact me separately by e mail, I can let you have a copy.

P.S.

Found a copy of the macro on my computer to paste here:

The "back to previous segment" macro to patch Trados Translator's Workbench

Sub tw4winOpenPrevious()
'by Yves Champollion
Dim Here As Long

... See more