Jolanta Grigg
Jolanta Grigg  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:08
English to Polish
+ ...
Jan 3, 2015

Hi everyone!

Please excuse yet another question about starting a translation career.
I am currently in second semester of a MA course in Translation in the UK, where I have lived for nearly 10 years.
My languages are English to Polish. I have a BA in Polish Language and literature. In the UK I worked in customer service jobs and catering but my passion is language. I am now in my mid-thirties and so tired of dead-end jobs. I would love to have a career as a translator. H
... See more
Hi everyone!

I am currently in second semester of a MA course in Translation in the UK, where I have lived for nearly 10 years.
My languages are English to Polish. I have a BA in Polish Language and literature. In the UK I worked in customer service jobs and catering but my passion is language. I am now in my mid-thirties and so tired of dead-end jobs. I would love to have a career as a translator. Hence I decided to do a master and I am loving it despite it costing me all my savings.

I have done some voluntary work but recently haven't had much time for anything but my studies. I translated some subtitles for TED and some articles about ecology for a website.
I have had good grades for uni work so far, so I guess there is potential for me to become a good translator.

I would love to start doing some paid projects. Or find a part time job.
My question is how do I go about finding jobs.
I applied for some jobs on this website but had no reply. I also applied for one local agency, that advertise for EN-Pl transactors.
I don't know how much to charge per word and I don't know what deadline is realistic for me to meet.
I can of course do some research and find out. It is just so daunting.

Is approaching translation agencies my best option?
If so do I just send a CV or do I quote prices?
What else can I do to get into the job market?