Software for non-technical translation
Thread poster: menisk
Oct 15, 2011

I'm not a professional and I need your advice. I'm trying to translate a certain biography as a hobby project and it's a bit of a pain software-wise. Using a generic text editor while peeking in an open paper book couldn't be the best way, but I fail to understand if there are better tools for manual translation. I don't need translation memory (it is of no use), just a tool that would

1) Align the original (I have it scanned and ocr'ed) and translation. I'm thinking about a two-pane editor or something with tables maybe.

2) Indicate the parts that are not translated yet.

Seems very intuitive and basic, but somehow I can only find either huge CATs aimed at technical texts or software resource file translation utilities (maybe I should just try one of those?). Perhaps I don't understand the workflow.

What do people use for such content?

[Edited at 2011-10-15 08:15 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Peter Linton  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:46
Member (2002)
Swedish to English
+ ...
Use a CAT tool Oct 15, 2011

I would strongly recommend using a CAT tool for this purpose. Many people think that such tools are only relevant for technical translation using translation memory. Not so. One of the major advantages is that such tools is that the display the source and target texts side by side (or one above the other). This I find is far superior to the traditional overwriting method. Very much like the two pane solution you are looking for.

As you translate, it is easy to tell how much You have done, and how much remains to be done.

Used iike that, CAT tools are pretty intuitive and basic. They meet your requirements, though perhaps not in quite the fashion you expected.

As for which CAT tool, a simple cheap one with an intuitive display is all you need.

James McVay  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:46
Russian to English
+ ...
With Peter Oct 15, 2011