Thread poster: Nadim Bayeh
Nadim Bayeh
Nadim Bayeh  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:18
French to English
+ ...
Dec 4, 2010

Hello all,

I am a freelance translator living in Lebanon.

I have been working with a Sao Paulo-based Brazilian translation agency. They were chronic late payers, and have several negative feedbacks here and on other sites, but not they are refusing to pay me. They owe me about $2,000. I have documents (purchase orders, invoices, EML correspondance files) to prove it.

I'm exploring my legal options, and I'm wondering what you would advise. Small Claims Court
... See more
Hello all,

I am a freelance translator living in Lebanon.

I have been working with a Sao Paulo-based Brazilian translation agency. They were chronic late payers, and have several negative feedbacks here and on other sites, but not they are refusing to pay me. They owe me about $2,000. I have documents (purchase orders, invoices, EML correspondance files) to prove it.

I'm exploring my legal options, and I'm wondering what you would advise. Small Claims Court? Brazilian Lawyer? Brazilian/international debt collector?

Thanks for your replies!
Collapse

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 11:18
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
You made your choice Dec 4, 2010

Nadim Bayeh wrote:
... a Sao Paulo-based Brazilian translation agency. They were chronic late payers, and have several negative feedbacks here and on other sites, but not they are refusing to pay me.

Translation is all about mutual trust. It's not like one party putting cash on the counter and the other putting some merchandise of known quality there, and both changing hands. In translation, the client trusts the vendor to deliver what they need, in the way they need it, and by the time it's needed. The translator trusts the client to pay them as agreed, when agreed, and in the way that was agreed.