Thread poster: David BUICK
David BUICK
David BUICK  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:46
Member (2006)
French to English
+ ...
Mar 26, 2009

Hi all. I have extensive experience in consecutive and simultaneous translation in the English-French language pair and am just finalising my first quotation for a telephone interpreting session. I am interested in finding out about others' experience in this at a practical level, for instance:

Skype and other VOIP solutions: do people find that home-based solutions have enough bandwidth to do this simultaneously (ie as though the interpreter is in a remote booth)?

Is
... See more
Hi all. I have extensive experience in consecutive and simultaneous translation in the English-French language pair and am just finalising my first quotation for a telephone interpreting session. I am interested in finding out about others' experience in this at a practical level, for instance:

Skype and other VOIP solutions: do people find that home-based solutions have enough bandwidth to do this simultaneously (ie as though the interpreter is in a remote booth)?

Is there any advantage in having incoming audio on one line and outgoing audio on another?

Is it suicide to attempt this without a headset? What experiences do people have of non-VOIP (landline) headsets?

Your contributions welcome!

Eutychus
Collapse

Stephen Franke
Stephen Franke
United States
Local time: 19:46
English to Arabic
+ ...
Telephonic interpreting Mar 26, 2009

Greetings. I refer to your query on proz.com.

Re your question..."Is it suicide to attempt this without a headset? What experiences do people have of non-VOIP (land-line) headsets?

If you are interpreting a session over skype, using a good-quality/"skype-compliant" headset (which certification usually appears printed, or affixed on a card, inside the wrapped package of the headset when you buy it) will much simplify your ability to hear the two-way audio with cl
... See more