Convincing agencies to use few translation tools
Thread poster: I_CH
I_CH
I_CH  Identity Verified

Local time: 23:19
German to Italian
+ ...
Jun 12, 2008

As a freelance translator I regularly face requests concerning the use and the availability of some tools, which in my opinion are merely time-consuming or not effective.

What about creating a sort of lobby in order to try to convince agencies to just use few well-established and efficient tools?

Kind Regards
Alberto Sala

[Título editado por el personal o un moderador 2008-06-12 10:54]

Chiara Comini
Chiara Comini
English to Italian
+ ...
it would be wonderful but... Jun 12, 2008

I think in many cases agencies are trying to promote their proprietary tools and services, which are often really far from perfection. In this case your suggestion will be unheard. But maybe we can use our persuasion superpower

[Edited at 2008-06-12 12:09]

Margreet Logmans (X)
Margreet Logmans (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
English to Dutch
+ ...
SDL Jun 12, 2008

Alberto Sala wrote:
What about creating a sort of lobby in order to try to convince agencies to just use few well-established and efficient tools?

That's exactly what SDL is doing, isn't it?
In case you don't know, they are the company that produces Trados.

Annelise Meyer
Annelise Meyer  Identity Verified
France
English to French
+ ...
Precisely Jun 12, 2008

Hi,

that is precisely what they do and even though I do agree that there are far too many tools and softwares on the market, I would not want to be "forced" to buy a tool I would not have chosen... (even though I decided that SDL Trados was a must-have for me when I settled...).
I think it is more positive to have competition on a market: not only
... See more

Hi,