Thread poster: Chrissie_H
Chrissie_H
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:30
English to German
+ ...
Nov 28, 2013

Hello,

I'm just starting out as a freelance translator. After sending my CV to a lot of agencies, I received my first job offer this week. I've already completed the job, but have not received any reply from the agency and am now a bit worried that they may not actually be legitimate.

Firstly, when the agency called to offer me the job their phone number was withheld and they called me after 6pm. I also only ever received the first name of the person on the admin team I was dealing with (after requesting a name) and they did not send me a purchase order for the job. The agency does however have an impressive looking website and claims to be based in the UK. They also advertise on job boards looking for interpreters and translators, which is where I found them. I cannot find any information about them on the Blue Board however or anywhere else. When I looked up their web ID, it says that they've only been in operation for 7 months and the owner is a non-UK individual who is "non-trading" and has chosen not to display his address on WHOIS.

What would you say about this? Would this kind of thing get your alarm bells ringing or is this quite normal for a new agency?

I realise now I should have been more careful to check the agency's credentials before I took on the job. I was simply so excited to finally receive some work though that I completely ignored any doubts.

Any opinions from more experienced translators out there would be much appreciated.

Many thanks!

Direct link Reply with quote

Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Have you checked Companies House? Nov 28, 2013

Chrissie_H wrote:

Hello,