Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Urgent v Standard translation - how quickly do you submit your work?
Thread poster: Marion Lambert-Nuding
Marion Lambert-Nuding
Marion Lambert-Nuding  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:07
English to French
+ ...
Mar 20, 2012

Hi all,

I am a part time freelancer and I am coming across this dilemna more and more often:

My price list has two tiers: Standard, and Urgent (48 hours) with an extra charge and a word limit.

Having said that, if I'm not too busy I would often be in a position to submit small projects back to the client within the 48 hours period anyway, but I normally try and hold back for a bit as I feel it would defeat the point of offering an urgent service at an extr
... See more
Hi all,

I am a part time freelancer and I am coming across this dilemna more and more often:

My price list has two tiers: Standard, and Urgent (48 hours) with an extra charge and a word limit.

Having said that, if I'm not too busy I would often be in a position to submit small projects back to the client within the 48 hours period anyway, but I normally try and hold back for a bit as I feel it would defeat the point of offering an urgent service at an extra cost...

Most customers happily accept that, but an increasing number of clients try and insist on getting the translated text back within a few days at no extra cost and I'm not sure how to handle this without losing the work. I want to be competitive, but I also realise that clients who have paid the 'urgent' charge may not appreciate me doing the same for free with other customers....

What do you think? Do you offer an urgent service at all?
Collapse

Ty Kendall
Ty Kendall  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Hebrew to English
Every case is "urgent" in my experience Mar 20, 2012